A healthier alternative to Hwy 101 – My 67 mile San Francisco to San Jose bike ride

Rather than attend the 40 person aunty party, I opted to ride from San Francisco to San Jose so that I could arrive fashionably late…really late so I could skip the gossip…but just in time for all the good eats. The resulting 67 mile ride with 2,228 feet of elevation gain was a great prep ride for my Tour of Napa Valley Century ride on Aug 22, 2010. This was also my second big ride on my shiny new Orbea Onix and I think the bike is finally accepting me as its rider (bike review to come).

When I finally arrived, having burned thru 4,200 calories, I had no guilt in my double servings of Chola Bhatura, Samosas, Papadi Chat and Cheesecake.

Mapmyride has a great app to track the route including speed and elevation in addition to specific route.  You can view my route with cue sheet notes.

After a late night on Saturday (thanks to Amit, Vrishtee and Meenal), I started in true Indian style…3 hours after I had planned. The craziest part of the trip was definitely hugging the absolute corner of Skyline with a very narrow shoulder as cars zoomed by at over 70 mph…a speed differential of 50 – 60 mph. It was then that I really valued all those silly driving rules like keeping both hands on the wheel, no texting while driving, no drinking and driving…etc. For those violators, please do think of idiots like me who are trying not to become roadkill.  I was lucky to meet other riders who helped me navigate my inaugural SF-SJ trip. Chuck helped me navigate Skyline to Daly City and Rich helped me avoid the I-280 stretch by taking San Andreas trail and a bit of the inner roads near Milbrae. There was even a 8 year-old girl who showed me how to use the water cooler on Ralston road. I think my favorite part was eating my lunch, an onion bagel with lots of cream cheese and a very mushy half PBJ sandwich while cruising down Canada road on my bike. The other half of the sandwich was a warm gooey consistency that had to be donated to the birds. As I got through Stanford, Los Altos and Cupertino I thought I was on my  flat home stretch through Saratoga, Lost Gatos and Campbell.  Unfortunately, my brain cells had melted away with my sweat in the high heat and I completely forgot about the massive 900  foot climb on Mt. Eden and Pierce up to Mountain Winery. My biggest challenge of the trip! An unexpected big climb at the tail end of a long ride in high heat is not a lot of fun. I dropped into my granny gear and was happy to chat with other riders as we all collectively groaned to the top. Flying down was a good release and I think I clocked my fastest speed at 33 mph.

Impeccable timing as I arrived just as everyone was leaving the party. Check out the video as the out of breath tribaby ask for a samosa at the end of the ride. To add to my memorable moments, one of the aunties looked at me in full biking gear: black bib shorts, bright yellow jersey, helmet, dehydrated and breathing heavily and commented “Beta, why are you dressed like an out-of-shape taxicab? here have a laddu.”

One response to “A healthier alternative to Hwy 101 – My 67 mile San Francisco to San Jose bike ride

  1. It’s an amazing paragraph in favor of all the web people; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

